2017 Program


Select the day below to view the program for that day or view the schedule sorted by stream

Click here to view the poster abstracts list

Sunday the 24th of September


12:30 pm - Registration opens



5:00 pm - PLENARY: Professor Elizabeth Blackburn

Director, Salk Institute

Roles of Telomere Biology in Human Healthspan and Disease

6:00 pm - Welcome Reception


Monday the 25th of September



8:30am - PLENARY: Professor Sam Stupp

Director, Simpson Querrey Institute for BioNanotechnology, Northwestern University

BioNanotechnology and Living-Like Soft Materials



11:00am - Morning Tea

11:30am - PLENARY: Professor Geri Richmond

Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry, University of Oregon

Mulling over Molecular Assembly at Emulsion Surfaces

12:30pm - Lunch

Special lunchtime presentations

“Sigma Free Web Toolbox - Interactive Calculators, Search Explorers,  and Resources”
Speakers: Jenny McShane, Segment Marketing Specialist, Merck, Australia.
Rodman Chan, Technical Service Support Officer, Sigma, Australia.

“High resolution sizing and concentration measurements of nanoparticles using NTA”
Speaker: Dr Will Lawler, ATA Scientific




3:30pm - Afternoon Tea


5:00pm - PLENARY: Professor Wilhelm Huck

Professor of Physical Organic Chemistry, Radboud University Nijmegen

Building a Synthetic Cell


6:00 pm - AIBN Student Association Event

Tuesday the 26th of September



8:30am - PLENARY: Professor Ian Frazer

Professor Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, The University of Queensland

HPV vaccines – a success story for nanobiology



11:00am - Morning Tea


11:30am - PLENARY: Professor Melissa Little

Group Leader: Kidney Development, Disease and Regeneration, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute

Directing pluripotent stem cells to kidney: an exemplar of the future of stem cell medicine


12:30pm - Lunch

Special lunchtime presentations

 “Accelerating results with better expertise and infrastructure”
Speaker: Dr Jane Kenna, Australian National Fabrication Facility – QLD.




3:30pm - Afternoon Tea

5:00pm - PLENARY: Professor Alan Mackay-Sim

Emeritus Professor, Griffith University 2017 Australian of the Year


Wednesday the 27th of September



8:30am - PLENARY: Professor Johan Hofkens

Professor, KULeuven

Fluorocode, a superresolution optical map of DNA


11:00am - Morning Tea

12:15pm - Lunch


3:30pm - Afternoon Tea

5:00pm - PLENARY: Professor Heather Maynard

Director of the Chemistry Biology Interface Training Program, UCLA

Sweet Stabilizers: Glycopolymer Conjugates and Nanogels for Therapeutic Protein Delivery


6:00 pm - Banquet



8:30am - China-Australia-CSIRO Polymer Meeting (CAPM4)

Satellite Event